What does the Colorado Division of Insurance do?
The Colorado Division of Insurance (DOI) regulates the insurance industry in Colorado. We help consumers by answering their questions, investigating their complaints, and helping them to understand their insurance.
How do I renew my expired insurance license in Colorado?
After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 90 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Colorado insurance license online by using the Colorado State Information Center Insurance Licensing Search and Renewal tool. There is a fee of $29 per line of authority to renew your license.
Does Colorado require a TPA license?
The following ten jurisdictions, however, either have not enacted any TPA statute or, if enacted, do not expressly provide by statute that licensed insurers are exempt: Alabama, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, New York, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.
What does the Colorado insurance commissioner do?
Michael Conway As Commissioner, Conway serves as the chief executive of the Division of Insurance and oversees the regulation of the insurance industry in Colorado.
Which federal agency regulates insurance companies?
The Federal Insurance Office
The Federal Insurance Office (FIO) advises the United States Department of Treasury and other agencies within the federal government on insurance matters. It was created after the financial crisis of 2008 to advise on all aspects of the insurance industry.
How do I report an unethical insurance agent?
The CDI toll-free hotline number is: 1-800-927-HELP (4357). Be aware that when you file a formal complaint the CDI contacts your insurance company, tells them about your complaint, and gets their side of the story.
How long is Colorado insurance license good for?
Candidates must provide evidence of successful completion of prelicensing training at the time of the examination. Prelicensing certificates of completion are valid for one year from the date of completion.
How do I look up my Colorado insurance license?
Search by license number, personal name, or business name. Insurance agents and agencies’ licenses are available on DORA’s Division of Insurance website at https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/node/100271.
How do you get a title license in Colorado?
An applicant must have 5 years of full time experience in the title industry, have a valid Colorado Producer’s license, be employed by a member in good standing of the Land Title Association of Colorado, and complete the following basic classes and pass exams with at least a 75% score: Deeds and Conveyances.
What is a TPA license?
Third Party Administrators (TPA) TPA’s are companies that Self-Insured employers contract with to administer the claims administration process. Some self-insured employers choose to handle this claims administration process in-house to have a tighter control over the process.
What federal agency regulates insurance companies?
United States Department of Treasury
Who is in charge of Colorado insurance Department what is their name and title?
|Colorado Commissioner of Insurance|
|Selection Method:||Appointed by the governor|
|Other Colorado Executive Offices|
What are the car insurance requirements in Colorado?
$25,000 for bodily injury per person
Who is the Commissioner of insurance for Colorado?
Colorado’s insurance commissioner, Marguerite Salazar, wants state residents to know where they can go for greater understanding of the benefits offered in insurance policies, and, where to file
What is Colorado insurance?
The Colorado Division of Insurance (DOI) regulates the insurance industry in Colorado. We help consumers by answering their questions, investigating their complaints, and helping them to understand their insurance. We regulate and monitor the insurance companies in Colorado, as well as insurance agents, making sure everyone is following the law.