Menu Close

Who ran for president as a Republican in 2008?

Who ran for president as a Republican in 2008?

On March 4, 2008, John McCain became the Republican presumptive presidential nominee when he obtained the 1,191 delegates necessary to receive the party’s nomination. Mike Huckabee announced his withdrawal from the race later in the evening.

How many Republican senators were there in 2008?

2008 United States Senate elections

Party Democratic Republican
Leader’s seat Nevada Kentucky
Seats before 49 49
Seats after 57 41
Seat change 8 8

Who held the House and Senate in 2008?

The Democratic Party won a majority in both chambers, giving them full control of Congress for the first time since the 103rd Congress in 1993, which was also the last time they controlled the House.

Who controlled the Senate in 2009?

111th United States Congress
Senate Majority Democratic
Senate President Dick Cheney (R) (until January 20, 2009) Joe Biden (D) (from January 20, 2009)
House Majority Democratic
House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D)

Was Congress a Republican in 2006?

November 7, 2006 — California Representative Nancy Pelosi and Nevada Senator Harry Reid led the Democratic Party in taking control of both the House and the Senate in the 2006 congressional elections, the first time in 12 years the Democrats secure control of both houses of Congress simultaneously.

Who controlled the House in 2009?

Democrats controlled the 111th Congress (2009–2011) with majorities in both houses of Congress alongside the country’s first African-American president, Democrat Barack Obama.

Where is the 2008 Open Championship held?

Location in Southport, Merseyside, north of Liverpool, England. The 2008 Open Championship was a men’s major golf championship and the 137th Open Championship, played from 17–20 July at Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport, England.

What happened to Greg Norman at the 2008 Open?

Greg Norman at the 2008 Open Championship. Despite a wrist injury that almost forced him to withdraw prior to the tournament, Pádraig Harrington successfully defended his Open Championship title.

Who won the Open Championship back-to-back?

Pádraig Harrington successfully defended his Open Championship title, his second; he shot four under par over the final nine holes and was four strokes ahead of runner-up Ian Poulter. Harrington was the last golfer to win the same major back-to-back for a decade until Brooks Koepka won consecutive U.S. Opens in 2017 and 2018 .

Posted in Advice