Menu Close

Who won the Madison Regatta race?

Who won the Madison Regatta race?

Jimmy Shane
List of Madison Regatta winners

Year Event Driver
2018 Madison Regatta Jimmy Shane
2019 APBA Gold Cup Jimmy Shane
2020 APBA Gold Cup No race; canceled due to COVID
2021 APBA Gold Cup Jimmy Shane

When was the first Madison Regatta?

The Ohio Valley Motorboat Racing Association of Cincinnati organized the first major Madison regatta in 1929, an event that continued annually throughout the 1930s.

Do they still have the boat races in Madison Indiana?

Informal boat racing dates to 1911 on the Ohio River in Madison, Indiana. In 2021, APBA Gold Cup race will again be held at Madison. …

How fast do hydroplanes go?

A modern Unlimited Hydroplane is the world’s fastest racing boat, capable of speeds in excess of 200 mph.

Who won the hydroplane races?

Corey Peabody
Corey Peabody claims first unlimited hydroplane victory as Strong Racing goes 1-2 at Columbia Cup. Corey Peabody won his first race as his unlimited hydroplane racing team won on its home course. Peabody, who is from Kent, drove the U-9 Pinnacle Peak Consulting to a win at the Columbia Cup in the Tri-Cities.

Does Miss Madison still race?

After the 2018 hull began racing, Miss Madison continued to field the old hull in West Coast races during the 2019 season as the U-1918 Oberto Specialty Meats (referencing the date of the brand’s founding). It was the first time there were two Miss Madison boats in a single regatta.

Is the movie Madison a true story?

Madison is a 2001 American sports drama film directed by William Bindley, about APBA hydroplane racing in the 1970s that is based on a true story. It stars Jim Caviezel as a driver who comes out of retirement to lead the Madison, Indiana, community-owned racing team.

Do they still have the Madison Regatta?

Madison Gold Cup Regatta Postponed Until 2021.

Who Built Miss Budweiser?

MISS BUDWEISER – 1968 Designed by Ed Karelsen, it raced for five years, won eleven races (including two APBA Gold Cups), and captured three straight National High Point Championships in 1969-70-71.

What is a Thunder boat?

A hydroplane (or hydro, or thunderboat) is a fast motorboat, where the hull shape is such that at speed, the weight of the boat is supported by planing forces, rather than simple buoyancy.

Who won Tri-Cities hydroplane races 2021?

Bill Brow
HAPO Air Show & Columbia Cup July 23-25, 2021 Bill Brow was the winner that first year, driving Bernie Little’s Miss Budweiser. The 2.5 mile oval consistently produces the fastest speeds on the circuit.

Who won Columbiacup?

List of Tri-Cities Unlimited Hydroplane Champions

Year Event Driver
2016 HAPO Columbia Cup Jimmy Shane
2017 HAPO Columbia Cup J. Michael Kelly
2018 HAPO Columbia Cup Andrew Tate
2019 HAPO Columbia Cup J. Michael Kelly

Posted in Blog