Menu Close

What are the labor laws in Oregon?

What are the labor laws in Oregon?

Oregon labor laws cover a wide variety of employment situations including discrimination, pay, leave, breaks, workplace safety, and payroll taxes….Rest and Meal Breaks.

Shift Length Rest Breaks Meal Breaks
14 hours 3 2
14 hours 1 minute – 18 hours 4 2
18 hours 1 minute – 21 hours 59 minutes 5 2
22 hours 5 3

Is an employer required to pay a minimum of 4 hours in Oregon?

Oregon employers must compensate all “hours worked.” Unless a specific exemption applies, employees must receive at least the minimum wage for all hours worked. They must also receive at least one and one-half times their regular rate of pay for hours worked over 40 each workweek (overtime).

How many days can you work without a day off in Oregon?

For most adult workers, there are no limits on daily work hours. Theoretically, employers may schedule employees to work seven days a week, 24 hours per day, so long as minimum wage and overtime laws are observed. Manufacturing employees are limited to 13 hours of work in a 24-hour period.

What is considered full-time hours in Oregon?

Full-time worker: a person who usually works 35 or more hours during the survey reference week (at all jobs combined). Part-time worker: a person who usually works fewer than 35 hours per week (at all jobs combined).

Can employees discuss wages in Oregon?

Oregon’s Anti-Discrimination Laws Expanded for Wage Issues This is known as “at-will” employment. It is unlawful to discriminate or retaliate because the employee has: “Inquired about, discussed or disclosed in any manner the wages of the employee or of another employee.” HB 2007.

What are my rights as an employee?

Employees have all the employment rights that workers do, as well as extra rights and responsibilities, including: parental leave and pay. the right to flexible working requests after 26 weeks’ continuous service. protection against dismissal or suffering any detriment if taking action over a health and safety issue.

What is the shortest shift you can legally work?

3 hours is the minimum for most states across the country.

Do employers have to give minimum hours?

Because California labor law mentions a two hour minimum and a four hour maximum, many have construed this to mean the law requires employees to be scheduled a minimum number of work hours per day. It simply requires employers to pay at least half of the employee’s scheduled shift if the full shift isn’t worked.

Can employer deny unpaid time off Oregon?

An employer may lawfully establish a policy or enter into a contract denying employees payment for accrued vacation leave upon separation from employment. OR Bureau of Labor and Industries FAQs.

Do you have to pay out PTO in Oregon?

If you are discharged from employment and your employer has a policy of paying out benefits such as accrued vacation or severance pay, they must do so. Employers are required to provide sick time.

Can your employer make you work through lunch?

Per the FLSA, employers need not pay employees during meal breaks in any state. However, employers must allow employees to take the full lunch break without working unless a state law specifies otherwise. However, many people eat lunch while continuing to work at their desk.

What are the work laws in Oregon?

In this episode of our Oregon Employment Law podcast series, Paul Cirner and Florence Mao discuss several Oregon employment laws that are relevant to remote workforces. The speakers cover antidiscrimination provisions under the Oregon Workplace Fairness

The employees are 18 years of age or older;

  • The employees work less than five hours in any period of 16 continuous hours;
  • The employees are working alone;
  • The employees are employed in a retail or service establishment,i.e.,a place where goods and services are sold to the general public,not for resale; and
  • What is current minimum wage in Oregon?

    The current Oregon minimum wage of $12.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Oregon can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the “Oregon waitress minimum wage” for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers. [1]

    What are the overtime laws in Oregon?

    Oregon overtime wage law defines overtime as all hours the employee works in excess of 40 hours in one week. In some situations, such as factories and prevailing wage jobs, Oregon overtime laws require employers to pay overtime wages on a daily basis. When Oregon employees work overtime hours, they must be paid overtime wages.

    Posted in Advice