What is penalty Group 3 Texas?
Penalty Group 3 This group involves substances designed to create a stimulant or a depressant effect. Compounds in this category include anabolic steroids, benzodiazepines, Ritalin, Valium and other prescription medications.
What is controlled substance PG 3?
Penalty Group 3 (PG3) includes drugs like Ritalin, Xanax, Peyote, and Anabolic Steroids. Just like PG1, there is a long list of substances that fall into each Penalty Group category.
What does Poss CS PG 3 28g mean in Texas?
An individual can be convicted of a felony of the third degree if the amount of the substances is 28 grams or more but less than 200 grams. A conviction for this offense can result in a sentence of two to ten years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000.
What is the minimum punishment for possession of controlled substances in Texas?
At a minimum, the charge for drug possession in Texas is either a “Class B” or “Class A” misdemeanor. This carries a penalty of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000, depending on the type of drug.
Can you get probation for a third degree felony in Texas?
Third Degree Felony Punishment – Texas Penal Code § 12.34 Depending on a person’s criminal history and the circumstances of the charge, someone can also get community supervision (probation) or deferred adjudication. The length of probation for a 3rd Degree Felony is usually 2 to 10 years.
Is possession of a controlled substance a felony or misdemeanor in Texas?
Possession of a Penalty Group 1-A substance is always charged as a felony under Texas law. For small amounts, you will face a state jail sentence of between 180 days and 2 years in addition to a fine of up to $10,000.
What drugs are PG1?
PG1 – Opiates, cocaine, meth, GHB, fentanyl, and ketamine.
Is possession of a controlled substance a felony in Texas?
How do I beat manufacturing and delivery charge?
With an experienced defense attorney, it’s possible to overcome a charge for manufacturing and delivery. To defeat the manufacturing element, a common strategy is to argue that the items in your possession were not intended to make a controlled substance.
What is the maximum sentence for possession of a controlled substance in Texas?
What Are the Penalties for Drug Possession in Texas?
|Less than 28 grams||Class A misdemeanor||$4,000|
|28 to 200 grams||3rd degree felony||$10,000|
|200 to 400 grams||2nd degree felony||$10,000|
|More than 400 grams||1st degree felony||$50,000|
How long is jail time for possession of drugs?
The maximum sentences for possession of each class of drug are: up to seven years in prison or an unlimited fine (or both) for a Class A drug. up to five years in prison or an unlimited fine (or both) for a Class B drug. up to two years in prison or an unlimited fine (or both) for a Class C drug.
What are the penalty groups for controlled substances under Texas law?
Texas law separates controlled substances into four penalty groups and two sub-penalty groups. The Texas Health and Safety Code, Sections 481.102 through 481.105 list the penalty groups and their associated controlled substances. Penalty Group 1 is comprised of the drugs most likely to cause abuse and addiction that have no recognized medical use.
What is Penalty Group 3 (a) under Texas Health and Safety Code?
Texas Health and Safety Code – HEALTH & SAFETY § 481.104. Penalty Group 3 (a) Penalty Group 3 consists of: (1) a material, compound, mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the following substances having a potential for abuse associated with a stimulant effect on the central nervous system:
What is the Texas Health and safety code for drug possession?
Texas Health and Safety Code – HEALTH & SAFETY § 481.117. Offense: Possession of Substance in Penalty Group 3
What are the penalties for possession of a controlled substance?
(2) a felony of the third degree if the controlled substance is listed in Penalty Group 2; (3) a state jail felony if the controlled substance is listed in Penalty Group 3 or 4; or (4) a Class A misdemeanor if the controlled substance is listed in a schedule by an action of the commissioner under this chapter but not listed in a penalty group.