Menu Close

Where are the Imatong Mountains?

Where are the Imatong Mountains?

South Sudan
The Imatong Mountains (also Immatong, or rarely Matonge) are mainly located in Eastern Equatoria in southeastern South Sudan, and extend into the Northern Region of Uganda. Mount Kinyeti is the highest mountain of the range at 3,187 metres (10,456 ft), and the highest point of South Sudan.

How many tribes are in Eastern Equatoria?

The following tribes occupy the three states of Greater Equatoria: Acholi, Avukaya, Baka, Balanda, Bari, Didinga, Kakwa, Keliko, Kuku, Lango, Lokoya, Narim, Lopit, Lugbwara, Lulubo, Madi, Makaraka or Adio, Moru, Mundari, Mundu, Nyangbwara, Otuho, Pari, Pojulu, Tenet, Toposa and Azande Avukaya Mundu.

How would you describe Sudan’s geographical location?

Sudan is located in Northeast Africa. It is bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, South Sudan to the south, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west and Libya to the northwest.

How many mountains are in South Sudan?

There are 1446 named mountains in South Sudan. The highest and the most prominent mountain is Mount Kinyeti.

What is the height of mountain imatong?

Imatong Mountains/Elevation

Where is Nuba?

southern Sudan
Nuba, inhabitants of the Nuba Hills in the Kordofan region of central-southern Sudan. This region is studded with rugged granite hills that rise sharply from a wide clay plain and vary considerably in size and content.

How many counties are there in Eastern Equatoria state?

Eastern Equatoria is a state in South Sudan. It has an area of 73,472 km². The capital is Torit….

Eastern Equatoria
Region Equatoria
No. of counties: 8
Capital Torit

Is the Upper Nile located?

Upper Nile is a state in South Sudan. The White Nile flowes through the state, giving it its name….Upper Nile (state)

Upper Nile
Country South Sudan
Region Greater Upper Nile
Capital Malakal

What are Sudan’s physical features?

Sudan is Africa’s largest country, embracing 2,505,813 square kilometers of northeast and central Africa. It consists of a huge plain bordered on three sides by mountains: to the east the Red Sea Hills, to the west Jabal Marrah, and on the southern frontier the Didinga Hills and the Dongotona and Imatong mountains.

What are Sudan’s major landforms?

The country’s varied landforms include dune fields, lofty mountains and enormous swamps.

  • Cataracts of the Nile. A series of six great rapids or cataracts marks the Nile River’s course downstream of Khartoum, near the confluence of the White and Blue Nile.
  • The Sudd.
  • Mountains.
  • Deserts.
  • Observing.

How many rivers are there in Sudan?

The Longest Rivers In Sudan

Rank Longest Rivers in Sudan Total Length
1 Nile 4,258 miles (shared with 10 other countries)
2 White Nile 2,299 miles (shared with 5 other countries)
3 Blue Nile 901 miles (shared with Ethiopia)
4 Atbarah 500 miles (shared with Ethiopia)

What country is directly north of Sudan?

Land. Sudan is bounded on the north by Egypt, on the east by the Red Sea, Eritrea, and Ethiopia, on the south by South Sudan, on the west by the Central African Republic and Chad, and on the northwest by Libya.

Posted in Interesting