Menu Close

Who got Param Vir Chakra 1971?

Who got Param Vir Chakra 1971?


Name Rank** Date of action
Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon Flying Officer 14 December 1971*
Arun Khetarpal Second Lieutenant 16 December 1971*
Hoshiar Singh Dahiya Major 17 December 1971
Bana Singh Naib Subedar 23 May 1987

Who was the youngest Param Vir Chakra recipient 1971?

Arun Khetarpal

2nd Lt Arun Khetarpal PVC
Service number IC-25067
Unit 17 Poona Horse
Battles/wars Indo-Pakistan War of 1971 Battle of Basantar
Awards Param Vir Chakra

Who got the first Param Vir Chakra?

Major Somnath Sharma
Major Somnath Sharma, heading a detachment of the Kumaon Regiment at Badgam in Jammu & Kashmir, laid down his life saving Srinagar city and airport from a Pakistani attack during the Kashmir operations. He received the award posthumously on 3 November 1947.

Which is the bravest regiment of Indian Army?

Sikh Regiment
New Delhi: Raised on 30 July, 1846, as the XIV Ferozepore Sikhs under the British, the Indian Army’s Sikh Regiment, known as the bravest of the brave, celebrated 175 years of its raising Saturday. Many such celebratory events are planned for the rest of the year.

Who is the first foreigner to receive Bharat Ratna?

There is no formal provision that recipients of the Bharat Ratna should be Indian citizens. It has been awarded to a naturalised Indian citizen, Mother Teresa in 1980, and to two non-Indians, Abdul Ghaffar Khan of Pakistan in 1987 and the former South African president Nelson Mandela in 1990.

Posted in Advice