Menu Close

Who has won the most Currie Cup finals?

Who has won the most Currie Cup finals?

Currie Cup

Current season or competition: 2022 Currie Cup Premier Division
Country South Africa
Holders Blue Bulls (2021)
Most titles Western Province (34) Four shared (4)
Broadcast partner SuperSport SABC 2 Setanta Sports Asia Nine Network Stan

Who won the Currie Cup in 1976?

Free State
The tournament was won by Free State for the first time; they beat Western Province 33–16 in the final in Bloemfontein….

1976 Currie Cup
Countries South Africa
Champions Free State (1st title)
Runners-up Western Province
1977 →

Which team did the Blue Bulls beat during their match on 30 July 2021?

Blue Bulls 31 – 27 Stormers – Match Report & Highlights.

What time is the Currie Cup final 2021?


Vodacom Bulls Loftus Versfeld Carling Currie Cup Semi-Final Friday, 3 September, 19:00 48 – 31 DHL Western Province
Vodacom Bulls Loftus Versfeld Carling Currie Cup Final Saturday, 11 September 2021, 17:00 44 – 10 Cell C Sharks

How many teams are in the Currie Cup?

7First Division, Premier Division
Currie Cup/Number of teams

How many times have the Sharks won the Currie Cup?

The team is the third most successful provincial union in the Currie Cup, having won the competition eight times. Natal won its first Currie Cup in 1990, the same year the union celebrated its centenary. Since then the Sharks have won the Currie Cup in 1992, 1995, 1996, 2008, 2010, 2013 and most recently in 2018.

Who won the Currie Cup in 2007?

Free State Cheetahs
2007 Currie Cup Premier Division. The 2007 ABSA Currie Cup season was contested from June through to October. The Currie Cup is an annual domestic competition for provincial rugby union teams in South Africa. The competition was won by the Free State Cheetahs after they defeated the Golden Lions 20–18 in the final.

Is it possible to share the Currie Cup?

Sharing the Currie Cup is no longer an option. The first Currie Cup Final was played in 1939, at Newlands when Transvaal beat Western Province. The captains of both teams and the referee were 1937 and 1938 Springboks. The captain of Western Province was Freddie Turner, the captain of Transvaal Fanie Louw.

Why is the Currie Cup final always played in Johannesburg?

The venue for finals was originally decided by the age of the union, then by where the previous final had been played and now by position on the Currie Cup log. The 1947 Final was at Newlands because Western Province was an older union than Transvaal. The 1950 Final was in Johannesburg because the previous one between the two had been at Newlands.

In previous meetings on this stage, the Sharks have won twice (in 1990 as Natal over Northern Transvaal and again in 2008. However it is the Bulls who took the honours when the sides met in January’s 2020/21 Currie Cup final.

Who won the Currie Cup in 1970?

1970 brought the biggest surprise in a Currie Cup final when the Griquas players gathered in Kimberley after work on Friday and on Saturday morning and beat the mighty Northern Transvaal when Peet Smith kicked a penalty into the wind from his own half to win the match.

Posted in General